Holy Sh*t No! Instagram Now Lets You Know When Someone Screenshots Your Disappearing Photos!
Everyone loves a good Instagram stalk, so when rumours hit the Interwebz that Instagram would now notify users whenever someone took a screenshot of their photos, everyone collectively FTFO.
— Travis (@travlim) November 24, 2016
However, I’m here to tell you to take a few deep breaths ‘coz the ‘Gram’s new update isn’t as bad as you think.
Whilst the update will in fact tell you when someone takes a screenshot, you can let out a sigh of relief because this feature only applies to Instagram’s new disappearing photo, video and messaging feature.
Today we’re announcing two updates: live video on Instagram Stories and disappearing photos and videos for groups and friends in Instagram Direct. Now you can send disappearing photos and videos directly to groups and individual friends in a spontaneous, pressure-free way. Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot. To open your inbox, tap the new paper airplane icon at the top right corner of your feed or swipe left. You’ll see disappearing photos and videos in a bar at the top. Tap the ones with blue rings to see what your friends sent you. In a group, you can see everyone’s responses — and who else has seen them — in a slideshow format. Then when you’re done, just tap their faded profile photo to send a quick response. Disappearing photos and videos in Instagram Direct will start rolling out globally today. You can learn more about today’s updates at help.instagram.com.
The new feature, which Instagram rolled out early this week, allows users to engage in a Snapchat-like service. Users can send photos, videos and messages to their Instagram friends or groups, and these will automatically disappear once the content has been viewed.
So there you have it. Instagram’s new feature won’t gain you the title of ‘creepy Insta-stalker’ whenever you covertly take a screenshot of your ex’s new girlfriend/boyfriend’s Instagram feed to send to your best friend.
- Jess Lim
All The Sh*t Hot Festival Style From MTV Beats & Eats