You are here

MTV News

Wolfmother Return!

Preview new track at Vodafone MTVAAs...

Wolfmother are back and they have three brand new members.

The group premiered their new line-up and single along with a stonking performance at last week’s Vodafone MTV Australia Awards . ‘Back Round’ is the title of the track and it’s available for free download right now.

According to the official announcement, the new single is “A liberating avalanche of skull-crushing drums and primal riffing, ‘Back Round’ represents a joyous evolution for the Australian band following on from their 2006, self-titled debut”.

While the track is available free of charge from the band’s website, (, they’re encouraging people to donate some money to the Red Cross Victorian Bushfire Appeal in lieu of payment.

The new line-up consists of guitarist Aidan Nemeth, bassist and keyboardist Ian Peres and drummer Dave Atkins. They were drafted in after the group split up in late 2008 due to "irreconcilable personal and musical differences". Or, to put it another way, keyboardist Chris Ross and drummer Myles Heskett allegedly walked out, leaving vocalist Andrew Stockdale with the band name – and no band.

Wolfmother 2.0 are currently in LA working on material for their new album. No release date has been set, but it’s expected sometime this year.